Tuesday, May 15, 2012

Collected Mashups Vol. 1: MashAnthology (deluxe edition)

At long last, the first volume of the DJ not-I collected mashup retrospective series is finally available. As previously stated, with my semi-retirement from eight years of mashup-making to embark on original musical adventures, I'm releasing the entirety of my blend/bootleg/bastard-pop oeuvre in a series of mp3 albums, featuring all your favorite mashups of mine as well as special remixes, instrumentals, and previously unreleased tracks.

The journey begins here, with MashAnthology, a collection that ranges from my earliest efforts to some of my biggest "hits" made between 2004 and 2006. Though I released a previous version of this particular album, this is the definitive and deluxe edition which features several remixes, remasters, instrumentals and radio versions, many of them recently produced especially for the Collected Mashup series.

MashAnthology is all about "beginner's mind" (i.e. the initial thrill I found in juxtaposing various tunes, and the occasionally rough production values that went with it) and the utter eclecticism in the choice of sources, which was to become my trademark style. Although most of the tracks on this album use rap vocals, this is by no means a strictly hip-hop affair, and the compositions range from electronic to grunge to jazz to metal to pop to soul to world music. Rhythm is at center stage here, but my later emphasis on melody and harmony (or, as some of my mashup colleagues might say, my obsession with key) is clearly evident.

Enjoy and stay tuned for Collected Mashups Vol. II: The Sōhei Album, the majority of which will consist of previously-unreleased material!

Love, ~I

Download it in two parts:

Part One (Disc 1 of 2)
Part Two (Disc 2 of 2)
(Alternative links in "Comments" section)

Double album, 2 .zip files, 40 tracks
Total time: 2:38:35 (1:19:05/1:19:30)
High-quality mp3s (192-320 kbps)
Includes complete cover art by
Klaudia Gottwald and not-I



Disc One:

1. Honshirabe Waltz (Kohachiro Miyata vs. Max Roach)
2. Heart-Shaped Sky (Blackalicious vs. Nirvana vs. Stevie Wonder)
3. Feel All Apologies (Blackalicious vs. Nirvana)
4. Shimmember Me (Ol' Dirty Bastard vs. Blue Boy)
5. Pollution 500  (Ghostface Killah feat. Raekwon & Cappadonna vs. FunDaMental)
6. Chess Without Sobriety (Wu-Tang Clan & Eminem vs. Tanita Tikaram)
7. Download Planet (Sway vs. Leftfield)
8. One Monkey Don't Shock No Show (Goodie Mob vs. Peter Gabriel)
9. WMD (Soldiers' Memorial) (The Perceptionists vs. Eminem)
10. Times 2005 (Katrina Aftermath) (Ray Nagin & Reporters Gone Wild vs. Prince)
11. I'm Jux Twisted (Lyrics Born vs. System of a Down vs. KoRn feat. Dave Grohl)
12. If I Hail (Song For My Father) (Dead Prez & Tupac vs. Cedric Im Brooks & The Light of Saba)
13. (Feelin') Temptation in the Bathroom (Swollen Members & Perverted Monks vs. The Beat)
14. G'z Up Funk (Tony Touch & Doo Wop vs. The Meters) (Radio Edit)
15. Shimmember Me (Remixed & Remastered)
16. Chess Without Sobriety (Instrumental)
17. Download Planet (Instrumental)
18. I'm Jux Twisted (Instrumental)
19. Chess Without Sobriety (Radio Edit)
20. Shimmember Me (Dub Version)
21. Cantaloconi (Us3 vs. John Coltrane vs. Eric Dolphy vs. Kohachiro Miyata)

Disc Two:

1. G'z Up Funk (Tony Touch & Doo Wop vs. The Meters)
2. Touch It Cigrik (Busta Rhymes vs. Mogollar)
3. Fucked Up, Right Now (KRS-One vs. Fatboy Slim)
4. Spin Dis 1 Ting Round (Dynamite MC & The Nextmen vs. Amerie vs. Missy Elliott)
5. Can I Engel Like That (Pharrell & Gwen Stefani vs. Rammstein)
6. Early Journey (M1 & Sticman vs. Squarepusher)
7. Where Eagles Have Been Lost (Cool Calm Pete vs. Wolfmother vs. Channel Live vs. Killah Priest)
8. Think Freedom (Paris, Public Enemy & Dead Prez vs. Aretha Franklin)
9. Axel F Plays Dumb (Esoteric vs. Harold Faltermeyer)
10. In The Ghetto Tonight (Eric B. & Rakim vs. Phil Collins)
11. Never Call You Bitch Again (Evolution) (Tupac vs. Cinematic Orchestra)
12. Old School, Close & Slow (Tupac vs. Prince)
13. Freak Affection (Missy Elliott vs. Joan Armatrading)
14. Touch It Cigrik (Dr. Bakteria Version)
15. F***ed Up, Right Now (Extended Radio Version)
16. Can I Engel Like That (Radio Edit)
17. Where Eagles Have Been Lost (Instrumental)
18. Touch It Cigrik (Instrumental)
19. Shimmember Me (Unabashed Dance Version)

Download in two parts:

(Alternative links in "Comments" section)

1 comment:

  1. Disc 1: http://www.mediafire.com/?8ct1fapfy2dofpa
    Disc 2: http://www.mediafire.com/?kam0zqy7wyrheyu